Lost Lake

Lost Lake - from the "meditation rock"

Lost Lake trail view
Lost Lake trail view
Tree roots growing over a big rock
Tree roots growing over a big rock
Lost Lake trail
Lost Lake trail
Waterfall along the trail
Small waterfall on the trail
Three Trilliams
Three Trilliams

 

So, I decided I needed to get out of the “city” (Bellingham isn’t that big, but it still has about 86,000 people jostling around in it) and up in the mountains. It has been a very cold and wet spring around here – we can still see snow on the foothills, which is weird this time of year.

I decided that since the snow is still down so low, I’d pick a hike close to home, in the Chuckanuts. I’d hiked to Lost Lake from the north trail a year ago and decided it would be fun to take the south trail. It’s 4.5 miles one way, so its still a good early season hike and the elevation is only around 2,000 feet, so there wouldn’t be any snow.

I had a great time; I left early enough that I had the trail all to myself on the way up, and a very peaceful lunch at the lake. It was only myself, the song birds and a few ducks flying by.  Here are some pictures; it was overcast and most of the trail is under the trees, so some of the pictures came out kind of dark. It is the kind of trail I love.

Hamster trails

