So, I had promised to drive a couple friends way up the Mount Baker Highway on Sunday, so they could do a one-way, 42 mile ride back to Everson. They were training for the Ski-to-Sea race, at the end of this month. I was thinking this would only take a couple of hours, but by the time I got back to my truck and headed for my trailhead, it was after 12:00 and it was 1:00 pm by the time I started up my trail.

I am a morning person, and I have NEVER started out on a trail this late. There is something just “wrong” about this for someone like me. I am always awake by 6:00 am, and I literally cannot sleep in – which can be a problem on the rare occassions when I do stay up late.  I found my mind just kept justifying why I was starting out so late. Like anyone cared. Weird.

The parking lot was full, and I took the last spot. I didn’t think it would be that full, but at least there was one spot. Considering how many cars were in the parking lot I was pleasantly surprised that I did not run into too many people on the trail. I think there are so many trails that criss-cross each other in the Chuckanuts that people must have been going off on various trails.

The one thing I do not like about this trail is that I could hear the traffic on I-5 for at least an hour; finally I got to a point where I realized I could no longer hear the car traffic – all I could hear then was wind in the trees (not much this day) and bird song. The birds were really singing that day. I loved it. The peace and beauty of the forest are maybe to me what cathedrals are to some people.

Here are some pictures:

Trillium

Trillium

 

 Hamster report from the woods

