damaged finger

damaged finger

 So, yesterday I went home from work early because I was feeling sick. I fell asleep on the couch for about 3 hours and then felt a lot better. The key here is that while I felt better, I wasn’t up to full speed.

I started working on some shelves that I’ve been installing in my basement. So far, so good. I should have stopped there. I just wasn’t feeling 100%. But I made an error in judgement, and turned on my table saw to cut a piece of trim for the shelf.

damaged finger - 2

damaged finger - 2

 

  So I started cutting this strip of trim. I got halfway thru the length of it, and tried to switch hands, to pull it instead of pushing it. Somehow my right hand touched the saw blade and instantly it had cut into my index finger.

damaged finger -3

damaged finger -3

 

My immediate reaction was to grab the injured hand and try to stop the bleeding. Of course I didn’t know at that time the extend of the injury – whether it was really bad or if it was possibly something I could bandage up myself.  I could see that I still had all my fingers, but there was a lot of blood, and while I don’t panick at the sight of blood, I really prefer that it stay where it is supposed to be, not squirting around on my garage floor.

I exagerate , it wasn’t squirting. I did panick, but my reaction to panicking is to think through it. I ran to the basement sink and ran cold water on my fingers and saw then that I probably needed to go to the emergency room, but I didn’t want to. I ran upstairs and put ice and water in a small bowl and stuck my fingers in it. It was bleeding pretty good, but definitely slowed down in the ice and water.

I was still in panic mode and was having trouble thinking clearly. I live alone and knew I could not drive myself to the doctor, so had to figure out how to get there. I was trying to look up my doctors office phone number in the phone book using my left hand while my right hand was bleeding into the ice water. My doctor told me to go to the emergency room.

About that time I thought of my friend Hamilton. I figured he was the closest to me and the most likely to be home. It was hard tolook up phone numbers and hard to punch in the numbers. I kept hitting the wrong numbers and having to redial.

 I had to change the water and add ice to my little ice bath bowl, as I was still bleeding into it. I was feeling shaky and I guess, scared. I kept wondering if I could just wrap something around the wounds and not go to the doctor.

To conclude, my friend got me to the emergency room and while my finger is all stiched up, and I did nick the bone with the saw, it isn’t all that bad.

Hamster out

