Not as much as you could with 10, especially if the non-functioning digit is the index finger of your right hand and you are right handed. Not to mention it is sticking straight out with a splint on it, so it is in the way.

Ok, yes, I’m extremely grateful I still have my finger and it will heal, but right now there are so many things I have had to put on hold:

  • archery
  • gym ( I can’t hold a weight)
  • hiking (it hurts if I hold my arm down at my side, besides its raining here all the time and my bandages will get wet)
  • can’t hold a drill or hammer or screwdriver so can’t work on my shelves
  • can’t dig weeds in the garden, and believe me, the dandelions are getting huge
  • can’t push the lawnmower
  • it is really hard to wash the dishes (I quit using the dishwasher, besides, you still have to scrape the food off the dishes)

Yeah, I know the title of this article is what can you do, not what can’t you do, but I’m really frustrated.  I read for hours on the weekend; listened to some of my stories on tape and CD, watched some videos, straightend up around the house. Even tried painting some trim in the basement with my left hand. I really wanted to go hiking Sunday.

view out my dining room

view out my dining room

 

I do have a nice view out my window, here’s another photo:  

backyard II

backyard II

 Ok, here’s a photo of my great trim painting skills:

painted trim & mask

painted trim & mask

 Well, I’m tired of this hunt and peck typing I have to do until my finger heals, so I’m signing off.

Hamster out

