Top of one box

Top of one box - delious beer brewing

 

Well, I waited longer than I wanted to, to bottle the beer. It has been two weeks, as I injured my finger the DAY after I started the brewing in the brewing bucket, of course. I have found that things tend rather heavily toward happening at the worst possible time.

View of more of the bottled beer

This is mostly the large bottles

 

When bottling beer, I need to keep the cats out of the room, or everything gets cat hairs in it. Not to fear, I do keep the cats out, but you know how the little beasties try to sneek around you to get through doors?  Well in doing my heroic best (successfully, I might add) to keep them out of the botteling room, I managed to slam my injured finger in the door.

It hurt like hell. I didn’t know if I would be able to complete the bottling, which woul mean an entire batch ruined. I jumped around in the living room, cradeling my twice injured finger, spitting out every swear word I know (yes, I know a few, I had two teenage boys) and all the while wondering how badly I had now messed up my finger.

Some things I don’t want to know. So there was no way I was going to pull off the bandages and look at my finger. I figured the best thing to do was wait a half hour and see if the pain subsided enough to continue. I did look at the area of the bandage covering the stitches, to see if it was bleeding. No blood. Pain subsiding. Good.

 

Yes, 2 cases home brew

Yes, 2 cases home brew

 

It wasn’t so bad filling the bottles, but the ones that I had to cap were difficult with 9 fingers, and by the time I got to the last few bottles my finger was complaining. I was grateful to be done. I left cleanup for the morning since my finger hurt, but that wasn’t a good idea. The stuff that is left in the brewing and bottling buckets hardens and is harder to clean. So this morning I did a swishing out of the buckets and will deal with them when I get home, I guess.

By the way, I managed to operate the weedeater all over the backyard on Sunday, so I wasy happy about that. My plan is to get rid of that stupid grass and then I won’t have to deal with it. It isn’t happy being there anyway, the moss is doing it’s damndest to take over, but still, there is grass to deal with.

The hamster soldiers on . . .

 

