These Guys are serious . . . 

Beer ceremony

Beer ceremony

Really serious? This past weekend we had the Highland Games in Ferndale –  it was great, what I saw of it. I wish I could have seen more – like the games . . .

Cool bagpiper leading the beer

Cool bagpiper leading the beer

I went on Friday night for two reasons – first, Friday was free, and two, my friends husbands’ band was playing. James Higgens and the Muddy Boots. Photos to follow.

Blessing of the beer

Blessing of the beer

First, these people are really serious about their beer. The opening ceremony for the weekend was 4 guys in kilts carrying a keg of beer out on the field with a bagpiper playing as they marched out and back to place the beer on a platform. Then they had a prayer over the beer.  Which I thought was odd, as they prayed to Jesus, and I don’t think the ancient Irish worshipped a Christian god. I suspect they were pagans.

It was excellent beer!

Here’s the band:

James Higgens Muddy Boots Band

James Higgens Muddy Boots Band

 The band was reaaly good and should have had more audience – it was getting late by the time they were allowed to start playing and some people had left. They missed the best part of the evening!

James Higgens

James Higgens

Loved the band! James’ website is: http://www.jameshigginsmusician.com/

Check him out!

Hamster report

