2012 end of the world
National geographic graphic of end of the world

For those of us who are still employed, however temporarily that may be, and are working the traditional Mon –  Friday work week –  gosh, there are so many qualifications to a sentence in which I am trying to refer to employment – oh, frack, I’m getting lost here.

Um, yes, I remember –  Wednesday is the day we used to refer to as “hump day” – yeah!!! I finally got to it. Hump day – oh, get you heads out of the gutter – it is the middle of the work week, the top of the hill, it’s all downhill to Friday! Got it? Good.

Now, every day is “Do I sill have a job day?, and how much will unemployment pay if I get laid off today?  Personally, with all the hype about the end of the world due to some ancient Mayan calendar implying the world will end in 2012 (is that January 2012 or December 2012?), I’ve kind of thinking it might be a good thing if it did. End I mean.

Then I wouldn’t have to worry about whether I have a job, whether I can afford to go to the doctor, do I have enough food stored in the closet if there is an earthquake, etc., etc., etc. . . .

Enough of that. On a personal note, my blood sugar is under control with the diet the naturopath recommended, and I’m back at the gym, and out on the hiking trails. My finger is still in a splint, but it feels better and seems to be well on the mend.

I’m looking forward to my planned backpacking trips this summer, and I guess that’s it.

Oh, I LOVE this part of the world – we do not have huge forest fires (too much rain on this side of the mountains), no hurricanes, tornadoes, only local flooding (don’t buy a house in a floodplain – how many times do I have to tell you there is a reason they call those flat, low elevation areas next to rivers FLOODplains), and my personal, favorite – no poisonous snakes.

Hamster report. (Can I hibernate thru the end of the world, please? Or just thru the next 20 years, whichever comes first?) Where’s the beer? Remember, reality is for those whom cannot handle drugs, you know, people like me.

OK, I’m out.

