Are these two topics related? Only in my fevered brain . . .

Whatcom county count, by one person:

  • Birds – 3 (small – might have been Robins, seemed about the right size)
  • Squirrels – 3
  • Mice? – 1 (very small and furry)
  • Opossums – 1

Speaking of dead stuff, I started reading Eaarth, by McKibbens, this week. I’m only about 10 pages into the book and I’m already creeped out, and I know most of this stuff. I’ve been reading about climate change for about 5 years now. But having it all laid out in one book and throw in some info I did not know, and YIKES!

What really pisses me off, on a very deep personal level, is it looks like it will all come down when I’m too old to run. I somehow have this feeling that this is all a disaster of planetary proportions, concocted by the gods just to make my life a personal hell.

I’m sorry about that, people; it’s kind of like when you leave the house in the morning and forget your umbrella or raincoat. That day, of course, it rains like hell, and you just know  it is all your fault. If you had brought that raincoat or umbrella, it would not have rained.

See how it works?

Sorry, I do not mean to belittle the fact that we all are going to die from what is happening to the earth (mostly our fault), but what can you do when disaster strikes you in the face, but laugh. Not that lighthearted laugh, but that ironic, what can you do about it but either laugh or cry kind of laugh.

“Remember the past, plan for the future, but live for today, because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come.” – Unknown 

“A taste for irony has kept more hearts from breaking than a sense of humor, for it takes irony to appreciate the joke which is on oneself.”Jessamyn West

“Irony is a clear consciousness of an eternal agility, of the infinitely abundant chaos.”Karl Wilhelm Friedrich Schlegel
 
Sometimes I feel like a figment of my own imagination” – Lilly Tomlin
 
And my personal favorite:
“Reality is a crutch for people who can’t handle drugs.” – Lilly Tomlin
 
Hamster report from the edge
  
 
