So, there is still too much snow in the mountains, so am still hiking the Chuckanuts. Besides, my finger is still in a splint, so I can’t wear gloves and it would be hard to put on snowshoes.

Wide trail to start

Wide trail to start

It was drizzling all the way up the trail, was just overcast on the way down. Started out at 8:00 am from the Arroyo Park trailhead, mine was the first car there.

Trail narrows

Trail narrows

I do enjoy the peace and quiet when I’m the first on the trail. I could hear the birds singing, and the rain falling on the leaves.

One of the fun things about this tr

Trail narrows more

Trail narrows more

ail is it starts out on an old road (as soon as you traverse a trail from the parking lot to the road/ trail, that is), and the trail gets progressively narrower, until finaly, very close to the lake, you are brushing through head-high berry bushes, ferns, etc. 

Obstacles

Obstacles near lake

 The last part of the trail you have to negotiate through what is barely more than a swamp.

Muddy trail near lake

Muddy "trail" near lake

The first time I did this trail, several years ago, it took me a while to figure out where to go, as some idiot tied pink plastic ties to some brush that leads to a dead end in an even more swampy area near the lake.

However I know my way now

Lost lake

Lost lake

, and navigated the mud over to the part of the trail that goes uphill a bit to the rocky rest spot where I had a snack before starting back down.

Berries and brush

Head high brush

The trail is 9 miles, but goes fast. I left my car at 8:00 am and was back at 12:20.

Hamster report from the woods

