Sunday I left Bellingham about 7:30 am and drove to the southern trailhead for the Baker lake trail. You can access the trail from either the south or the north.

Baker and reflection

Baker and reflection

It is a nifty 14 mile long trail that goes from the north end of the lake to the Baker Lake dam a t the south end. The drive from Bellingham is 1-1/2 hours, not too long.

Shucksan arm

Shucksan arm

The weather was great – one of the sunniest and warmest days we’ve had so far this year. I hiked along the trail for about 6 miles before turning back, making it a 12 mile hike.

Early morning light on old snag

Early morning light on old snag

I stopped at the two campsites along the lake on the way back, and took a snooze at the southernmost campsite, about 1.8 miles from my car. The views of Baker were stunning. The trail winds through cathedral-like trees, ferns, hucklebery bushes and wildflowers.

scary bridge

scary bridge

The only downside was the fact that noise and voices travel very clearly over water, and so the motor powered boats and the car campers who were out enjoying the lake as well-kept reminding me that I wasn’t as far from civilization as I like to be on a hike!

A great hike, thumbs up on this one.

Hamster report

