So much for information taken from internet sources. I went to the forest service website for Mount Baker forest and there it said the snow pack was at 5,500 feet on the Excelsior Ridge trail.

Excelsior trail head

Excelsior trail headStream 2 miles up trail

At about 3.5 miles up the trail I encountered significant snow on the trail.

Stream 2 miles up trail

Stream 2 miles up trail

It quickly became 4-5 feet deep, and when I began to lose the footprints I was following I turned back, without reaching the ridge and the views I was hoping for.

Snow on trail

Snow on trail

Oh well, I had a great time just being in the woods. The weather was perfect on Sunday – warm, but not hot, and blue skies – which was one of the reasons I was hoping to make the ridge top and see the views of Baker and the Canadian peaks to the north. Oh well, next time.

More snow on trail

More snow on trail

They are sying we have the highest snow pack ever recorded here, and Mount Baker has one of the highest snowfall records in the United States.

Rest stop on way down

Rest stop on way down

I had carried my snowshoes, but it wasn’t appropriate to use them. Some of those mini-crampons would have been ideal. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any.

Hamster report from the woods

