Glass half empty

Glass half empty

No one wants to read pessimist thoughts. We live in a society where optimism is king; if you are just positive enough and believe in yourself and your future, all that you need will come to you.

Yeah, right. Here are some thoughts for you:

Oscar Wilde: “Pessimist; One who, when he has the choice of two evils, chooses both.”

Anonymous: “A pessimist is one who feels bad when he feels good for fear he’ll feel worse when he feels better.” Huh?

Woody Allen: “More than any other time in history, mankind faces a crossroad. One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness. The other, to total extinction. Let us pray we have the wisdom to choose correctly.”

I especially like this one: “An optimist will tell you the glass is half-full; the pessimist, half-empty; and the engineer will tell you the glass is twice the size it needs to be.” I really like this one; it got me, twice.

OK, one more: “The man who is a pessimist before forty-eight knows too much; if he is an optimist after it he knows too little.”

Pessimist, cynic, what's the diff?

Pessimist, cynic, what's the diff?

The truth is, I have been running out of ideas to blog about. Because, my thoughts are all dark these days, for the future. When I was young I tried really hard to learn what I needed to know; I tried to be like others and fit in. It was for the most part, a losing proposition. My parents did not do what parents are supposed to do, that is explain the world to their young; so I had to make sense of it myself, and being introverted and excessively shy, I had to do it alone.

I concluded by the age of about 35, that is not really possible. Humans are herd animals and we cannot run away from that, because the world is full and there are no more frontiers. Wherever you go, there are people, and you have to find a way to fit in, unless you are a sociopath and you REALLY don’t care.

This is my antidote

This is my antidote

As much as I tried to not care, I never got far enough away to REALLY not care. So there you are. Or rather, there I am. Uh, I mean here I am. Whatever.

I guess the best I can say to other pessimists out there, is to take a vacation from your dire expectations about the future. I go hiking, read fun novels, go to the gym a lot (you don’t really think too much when sweating up a storm and trying to get the last ounce of energy to make it to the end of my workout). I play with my cats – they aren’t worried about the future, as far as I can tell. I suspect they do worry when I don’t get home at the usual time to feed them. They are house cats and can’t even get outside.  They might worry some about that; hard to tell.

The nice thing about pessimism is that all your surprises are good ones. Take comfort in that!

Hamster thoughts

