Are you feeling like roadkill yet?  I know I am. Economy in the crapper and going down fast; global climate change is pretty much destroying the future; trying to live on next to nothing, and damn lucky that it is “next” to nothing and not actually nothing.

OK, on to mammalian lifeforms smashed by fast moving, carbon-spewing machines (and yes, I own one – in fact, I own two – because they are so old, I need one to drive while the other is in the shop and I’m not a mechanic).

Ha, ha, that is so funny

Don’t get me started on why I can’t repair my own cars. I am female, raised in the 1950’s and 60’s, that era that right wing conservative types want to bring back. In that era girls could not take autoshop in school, and fathers did not teach their daughters anything about the family car. Yes, I’m bitter about that. I have been ripped off to the tune of thousands of dollars over my lifetime thanks to that little omission. I for one am not fond of the 50’s.

Hmmm . . . back to the roadkill report:

  • Mouse (I think, it was kind of hard to tell at 50mph) – 1
  • Squirrel – 2
  • Opossum – 3
  • Unidentified (there are always some so far gone it is impossible to identify) – 3
  • That’s it.

Here’s a different kind of road kill. I hadn’t thought about it, living as I do in the Pacific Northwest, where we don’t even go into the ocean unless we have some kind of wet suit on to keep from freezing to death in the 44 degree water, but in Florida they have those neat sea creatures called Manatees. Slow moving, so guess what happens when Manatee meets powerboat? Ocean-going road kill.

“A record 95 of the beloved sea cows died under the hulls and propellers of boats in 2002, unable to lumber clear of the oncoming missiles.” – article from the Orlando Sentinel, in 2003.

Wonder if there are any left to kill this year. That was 9 years ago.

Hamster report

