Alternet has an interesting story on why people are swelling the ranks of the OWS (Occupy Wall Street) demonstrations. Yes, the rich are getting richer and the rest of us can “eat cake”, in the words of that famous member of the French aristocracy soon to lose her head Marie Antoinette, and yes, I have heard that this quote is in error, but I suspect the attitude it represents is real. I read that some of the ubber-wealthy in NYC put up signs on their condos saying “We are the 1%”. Yuck it up while you can.

I will confess, I am not going to any OWS demonstrations. I am not a believer in the concept that demonstrations and civil disobedience make any changes. I do think they come before the violence that follows when governments do not provide for the masses. What do they think millions of people will do when they cannot feed their children or themselves? I wonder.

Alternet article graphically shows wages vs productivity

 
Click for larger version
 
 

Check out the Alternet article, and read more about the graphs. The one above shows what CEO’s earn for every dollar their workers (slaves?) earn. Yes, $1,723 for every $1 their employees earn.

Check out Democracy Now! for today’s report – Cornell West and Micheal Moore are interviewed. Two of the greatest minds of our time.

Hamster report

 
