I live in the Pacific Northwest, and love to hike in the Cascade mountains, here on the west side.  I have been listening to Dr. Helen Caldicott, and others, since the earthquake and tsunami that destroyed the 4 nuclear reactors at that site.

Dr. Helen Caldicott

Dr. Helen Caldicott

I had decided to quit eating fish, as our Pacific Salmon swim in the waters that have been contaminated by the reactors. Hundreds of millions of tons of radioactive water have been washed into the Pacific ocean off Fukushima, due to the drastic efforts to try to keep the reactors and their spent pool ponds from melting down and/or exploding and spewing the radioactive gasses and materials all over Japan and up into the atmosphere to be spread all over the northern hemisphere.

Some of this has already occurred, but it can get much worse, and the Japan government along with Tepco, the company that operated the nuclear power plants are bumbling along, trying to keep the contamination from being worse than it already is.

What I heard yesterday, is that the radiation has been measured in Seattle (which is about 80 miles south of us, along the Washington coast), and it amounted to 5 – 10 “hot” (as in radioactive) particles per day, that residents in that city were exposed to during the worst of the nuclear disaster. It was far worse for the west slope of the Cascades, where I have been hiking all this year, finally being able to make time to go hiking where I most love to be.

So, now I assume that I will die of lung cancer in 5 – 20 years, even though I have never smoked, due to breathing these radioactive particles this last year. I wonder if I should even go hiking anymore. I wonder how many people know about this. Not very many, I expect, thanks our pathetic “journalism” in this country, and the iron control the corporations have on the media.

Ignorance is bliss, right? Bury our heads in the sand and go on anti-cancer marches to raise money to find a “cure”; charity walks run by the same corporations that dump toxic chemicals into our environment and run nuclear reactors.

If you want to know the facts, download this podcast, where Dr. Helen Caldicott interviews Arne Gunderson, a nuclear expert, about the effects of Fukushima and what the current conditions are at the plant, as of this week.

You don’t need to worry about climate change, you will die from the effects of radiation – cancer of one type or another. God, I wish I could be optimistic and believe that we will change our ways; cut down our population to something the earth can sustain; eliminate nuclear reactors and nuclear bombs; treat each of us with equality; provide an honest job to each person; healthcare for all. But as I have said before, I am a pessimist and I am mentally running into a wall here.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Hamster report

