What are you lookin’ at?

You ever get that when you less funny than explaining a joke, or in this case, understanding humor:

Jovanovic, V. (2011). Do humor styles matter in the relationship between personality and subjective well-being? Scandinavian Journal of Psychology 52, 502–507.

“The primary goal of this research was to examine the role of humor styles in the relationships between personality (extraversion and neuroticism) and two components of subjective well-being: life satisfaction and affective well-being. The sample consisted of 225 young adults, with mean age 23.61 years. Results indicated that the relationship between both extraversion and neuroticism and satisfaction with life could be partially explained by the mediating role of self-enhancing humor. Additionally, affiliative humor proved to be a partial mediator of the relationship between neuroticism and affective well-being. The findings of this research suggested that adaptive humor styles might be one of the mechanisms linking personality and subjective well-being.”

Got it?  Me neither. It just reminds me of how much I hate explaining a joke. The person who usually asks me to do this is my mother. Mom doesn’t get any joke ever told, and I really see the funny side of most things, so I end of explaining jokes a lot. There are times, when I just pretend I didn’t hear her, after all, I’m 61 and she is 87 so that works for us. We both have sucky hearing.

Here are some George Carlin jokes (I really miss him), and I’m not going to explain them to you:

  • The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone said to themselves, “You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done.”
  • The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.
  • Just when I discovered the meaning of life, they changed it.
  • Religion has convinced people that there’s an invisible man…living in the sky, who watches everything you do every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a list of ten specific things he doesn’t want you to do. And if you do any of these things, he will send you to a special place, of burning and fire and smoke and torture and anguish for you to live forever, and suffer and burn and scream until the end of time. But he loves you. He loves you and he needs money.
  • If it requires a uniform, it’s a worthless endeavor.
  • You know the good part about all those executions in Texas? Fewer Texans.
  • You can’t fight City Hall, but you can goddamn sure blow it up.
  • If the Cincinnati Reds were really the first major league baseball team, who did they play?
  • Honesty may be the best policy, but it’s important to remember that apparently, by elimination, dishonesty is the second-best policy.
  • If it’s true that our species is alone in the universe, then I’d have to say that the universe aimed rather low and settled for very little.
  • May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your house.
  • Life is a zero sum game.

There you go. Whats not to like?

Hamster report

