Yeah - I know, it looks better in this picture than it does in person

 

I’m a little disappointed in this photo – this shower is very scuzzy and gross, but it looks ok in the pic!  I did clean it up some, because my cats kept jumping in it and playing with the dirt. Also, it will be a few weeks before I can complete the tearing out, thanks in part to Puget Sound Energy cutting off the power for 6 hours last Sunday.

Yes, I know they said it was “an equipment failure”. So, why did the equipment fail? Lack of maintenance maybe? Not replacing parts before they fail? Maybe . . . and then 6 hours? That was a long time to fix it. It doesn’t look good for the next time we actually have a storm come through and blow down trees on the lines.

Back to the shower; it is a 28-year-old shower, single piece, built-in when the house was built. So, we gotta cut it up in pieces to get it out. The faucet and valve are pretty gross. I tried cleaning them but they don’t look any better. There was a huge amount of really gross mildewed crap under the glass wall and frame. It was creepy.

Annoying shower seat and some of the gross mildew

It will be so great to have a clean, new shower. Also, the new one doesn’t have that stupid built-in seat that takes up 1/3 of the shower floor, and I have never used it, except to set a bottle of shampoo on it. It is way oversized for a shampoo shelf, believe me.

Gross shower fixture, partially dissasembled

 

Roadkill Friday Count:

  • Birds – 2
  • Squirrels – 2
  • Unidentified – 3

There you go, drive carefully, ok? And replace those old groddy showers.

Hamster report

 

