File:Graves at Arlington on Memorial Day.JPG

This is what memorial day is about. Kind of depressing, no?

Uh, oh . . . 3 day Memorial Day Weekend! Not a good time to go for a long drive, yet that is just what millions will be doing. Not millions in Whatcom County . . . we only have 201,628, as of 2010 census count. You’d think they would round that up, 201,630 or something. I’m willing to bet there were people who did not fill out that census form, and besides, the day after, some people moved in, I’m sure.

So, anywhooo, road issues:

  • Opossum – 2
  • Squirrel – 1
  • Bird – 1
  • Unidentified – 2

Here is an interesting website: the census bureau has statistics on car accidents, this is for 2012. I have been looking for many weeks and I guess I was putting in the wrong search words. For one thing, they don’t seem to break the numbers down by county, but only by state. I guess all those government and private industry lay-offs reduced the number of people who could divvy up the information into smaller areas than by STATE.

In our state, most accidents occur where the most people are, duh. Which in this case is Pierce and King counties; the Seattle-Tacoma-Olympia area.

So, anyway, Washington state goes like this, oh, and it only goes up to 2009, so I’ll put that info here:

.9 deaths per 100,000,000 (that’s 100 million) vehicle miles travelled. Wrap your head around that. No wonder people just keep smashing themselves into oblivion at 70 mph. This information is pretty useless to the average person, and I know a lot of math.  How many 100 million vehicle miles have been travelled in Washington and how do they know how many miles each of us travels?

I give up with the useless statistics. I bet the only use they are is to car insurance companies and the people who get paid to compile useless statistics.

The price of gas in our area is $4.40, for the low-octane stuff. How you can all afford to go out and drive for hundreds of miles is beyond me. I can’t afford to. One news report stated that 34.8 million americans are expected to be out on the roads for memorial weekend. Let me do a little math:

34,800,000/50 states = 696,000 per state. I can’t weigh this number by the number of people per state, I don’t have that much time. I wish these stupid statics were more specific. Let me see, how many miles of highway is there in Washington state? Lets see, one website says we have over 7,000 miles of State Highways and that these carry over half the traffic in our state.

This is my idea of the perfect road. Can’t drive it at 60 mph, either.

Hamster report

